Keep it in a book

I once heard a phrase that if you want to hide something from someone put it in a book. That one phrase kicked up my book reading to a whole new level. As you probably can tell I set some huge goals for myself this year one of which was to read 50 books. I usually read between 5 to 8 books a year. But this year, I’m not just going to read my normal fiction stories but educational books, historical books, health books and everything in between.

I have a huge thirst for knowledge and the best way to quench this thirst is to read. I have this big, huge brain which probably hasn’t even reached a 1/4 of its’ potential. It’s time to call my brain to its’ complete potential.

Yeah, I am one of those people who spends hours in the library. I have an iPod, a laptop, iPhone and an iPad but there is nothing that compares to sitting in a chair and holding a book in my hand. That cannot compare to anything being stored in my iCloud. Nothing compares to finding a really nice bookmark to hold your place. When I go to the library I come out with tons of books. Some people have shoe fetishes, I have a book fetish. I have to be surrounded with books. It’s just me.

I stumbled across an app to help me keep track of all the books that I have read. (Come on, I still need to use technology!) It’s called Goodreads. LOVE IT!!! I have about 5 books that I’m reading right now.

Many people ask me how do I choose new authors or subjects. Most of the subjects I read about are from subjects that I need more information about. Like I needed to get more information on working with customers so I picked up Lee Cockerell’s “The Customer Rules.” It’s an easy read from an experienced executive from Disney. I found this book on the new book shelf. I was browsing and it just jumped out at me. Love when this happens because now I have to read all the other books that he has written.

If you are not a book reader, you should consider picking up a book. You never know what’s been hiding from you.

One thought on “Keep it in a book

  1. Nice blog. I’m reading two books now, but on my Samsung Galaxy Note tab. That’s two more than last year, other than the greatest book of all times, THE BIBLE. For electronic is easier. But your stacks of books do look interesting. Keep those wheels turning!

Leave a Reply

